California Legal Resources

Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Small Claims Case

In California, you can file a small claims case for up to $10,000. See California’s Self Help Guide to find out how. 

Statute of Limitations in California

A statute of limitation is often the time period a person has to file a claim. The two most common statute of limitations are:

  • Personal injury: 2 years from the date of injury. 

  • Breach of contract: 4 years from the breach of contract. 

To view all applicable statute of limitations as well as how they may be tolled, please visit California Courts Statute of Limitations site. ​

California State Superior Courts

Complaint for Breach of Contract

A form complaint by the Judicial Counsel for Breach or Contract: Form PLD-C-001.

Scroll to Top